The 2015 Turkey Trot was a great success!


Thank you to all who participated in this year’s Turkey Trot! We had 8,222 particpants!

Congratulations to Debbie Hagensee on winning the Brian Wagner Award.

Timeline last Thursday morning:

6:00 – The rain stops.
6:15 – Volunteers report.
6:45 – Registration opens at Elmhurst College Gym.
7:00 – Trolleys begin routes. Hospitality tent opens.
7:15 – Police Command Center positioned.
8:15 – Perimeter roads “soft close”.
8:30 – All barricading, course marshals and police are in position.
Dignitaries arrive at Start Line, load double decker buses.
Comcast broadcast team-Ken Bartels and John Quigley interview Honorary Starters Paul Krohn, Larry Carroll and John Jeffrey.
8:45 – Roads are “hard closed”.
Lima Lima Flight Team is “perched” over 290 waiting to be called in.
The Men of Spirito! are in position, waiting for the nod.
Registration team hurriedly checks in the last minute “walk-ins”.
8:47 – Dan addresses crowd and introduces dignitaries.
8:49 – Mayor Steve Morley welcomes the crowd.
8:51 – Invocation by Father Tom Paul and Deacon Keith.
8:53 – Dan asks crowd for moment of silence as we remember loved ones lost, our personal intentions and to remember our service men and women defending our freedom at home and on foreign soil.
Ground Control calls in Lima Lima from the “perch”. They will be over the Start Line in 1 minute and 5 seconds.
8:56 – The Men of Spirito! perform their “anthem medley”.
Lima Lima hits the Start Line in mid-anthem with their “bomb burst” directly overhead.
8:59 – 45 second countdown to race as Men of Spirito! finish anthem.
9:00 – Starters hit siren, 8,222 runners and walkers hit the streets.
9:00:01 – Louis Armstrong “Wonderful World”
9:15:32 – Alex Bashqawi crosses Finish Line, male winner, 15:32.
9:16:46 – Kristen Lucchesi crosses Finish Line, female winner, 16:46.

10:25 – The last walker crosses the Finish Line.
10:30 – It starts raining….somebody upstairs likes us…..just sayin’

#32 is in the books!!!